Minister’s Student Achiever Awards

27 June 2012


Since 1991 the NSW Minister for Tourism has been rewarding high-achieving students studying tourism.

The awards are presented during a ceremony each year to outstanding young students for their consistent academic achievement, and for demonstrating the capabilities and personal qualities that would make a significant contribution to the tourism and hospitality industry in NSW.

The Minister’s Student Achiever Awards acknowledge the importance of professional training to the tourism industry and encourage talented students to progress with a career in tourism. Each award includes a cash prize for the student.

Students from NSW public and private institutions offering degrees, diplomas and certificate courses in tourism studies can be nominated for the awards. To be eligible, students must have completed one year full time, or equivalent, of their studies and be a resident of NSW.

The Minister’s Student Achiever Awards aim to:

  • reward students who have sustained academic achievement throughout their course for the previous year
  • recognise the capabilities and personal qualities required to make a significant contribution to the tourism industry in NSW
  • continually promote excellence in the field of tourism and hospitality training.

Winners of the awards are announced at an awards ceremony at Parliament House in Sydney.

If you would like to nominate a student to represent your training institute please download the nomination form (PDF 390 kb) and return by express post to:

Amy Forsyth
Minister’s Student Achiever Awards in Tourism Nomination
C/- Destination NSW
GPO Box 7050

Deadline for nominations is COB Monday 22 August 2016

See previous award winners here.

Further information

For further information please contact
Amy Forsyth