AVIC Industry Advisory Group

18 December 2019

The NSW Accredited Visitor Information Centres (AVIC) Industry Advisory Group has been initiated by Destination NSW to encourage information sharing between NSW AVIC network members under the duty of  confidentiality. The NSW Industry Advisory Group (IAG) comprises NSW AVIC Managers/Supervisors or Tourism Managers from each NSW Destination Network, Destination NSW staff and the AVIC Program Manager.

Principles of the NSW AVIC Industry Advisory Group

The following principles reflect the role of the IAG:

  • Enable collaboration and information sharing (other than confidential information)
  • Focus on improving the NSW visitor experience
  • Provide a regular forum for key NSW AVIC stakeholders
  • Provide an opportunity for members to propose improvements to the NSW AVIC network.

Purpose of the NSW Industry Advisory Group

The NSW Industry Advisory Group will primarily be an information sharing group with the key role being to:

  • Provide input and guidance to Destination NSW in relation to the NSW Accredited Visitor Information Centre (AVIC) Network Accreditation Program
  • Contribute to the ongoing development of the Visitor Information Centre accreditation process in NSW
  • Provide a forum for the discussion of strategic issues relating to the management and development of AVICs in NSW
  • Assist in the promotion and communication of the goals of the NSW AVIC Network Program.


The current members of the NSW IAG are as follows:

Organisation Current Representative Title IAG Role
Destination NSW Peter Lipman Manager Visitor Services Chair
The Tourism Group Mark Greaves AVIC Program Manager Secretary
Destination Riverina Murray NSW Vivienne McEvoy Manager – Community and Tourism Services,
Balranald Shire Council
Destination North Coast NSW Andrew Walker Visitor Services Coordinator,
Lismore Council
Destination Southern NSW Andrew Warren Tourism Manager,
Upper Lachlan Shire Council
Destination Sydney Surrounds North Melissa George Visitor Information Centre Coordinator,
Cessnock City Council
Destination Sydney Surrounds South Diane Johnston Tourism Manager,
Tourism Shellharbour
Destination Country and Outback NSW Penny Jobling Tourism Manager,
Narrabri Shire Council
Sydney Surrounds Raquel Bloom Visitor Services Leader - Parramatta,
Visitor Information Centre

Related pages

Accredited Visitor Information Centres