2017 Minister’s Student Achiever Award Winners

The State’s next generation of world-class tourism professionals were honoured today in a special ceremony at NSW Parliament House to mark the 2017 Minister’s Student Achiever Awards.

27 September 2017

Minister for Tourism and Major Events and Assistant Minister for Skills Adam Marshall congratulated 14 students on their academic achievements in tourism and hospitality studies.

“The students honoured today represent the future of tourism and hospitality, and embody the commitment to excellence that is critical to the continued success of our industry,” Mr Marshall said.

“The NSW Government is committed to growing the NSW visitor economy to ensure we remain the number one State for tourism and major events in Australia. This means the creation of more jobs across the industry and more opportunities for future generations of tourism industry professionals.”

Mr Marshall also congratulated the tertiary institutions on their continued support of tourism and hospitality related studies.

“It is encouraging to see the wide cross-section of institutions represented by these students and I thank them for their continued commitment to fostering our future industry leaders.”

Since 1990, the NSW Government has acknowledged academically high achieving tourism and hospitality students at an annual Minister’s Student Achievers Awards ceremony.

Students from NSW education institutions offering degrees, diplomas and certificate courses in tourism and hospitality studies can be nominated for the Awards.

To be eligible, students must have completed one year of their studies and be a resident of NSW.

2017 Award recipients

Melissa Allcroft
Bachelor of Management (Tourism)
University of Technology Sydney

Yani Dawe
Bachelor of Business (Tourism and Hospitality Management)
Southern Cross University, Lismore Campus

Kye Dewberry
Cerfiticate III in Tourism
TAFE NSW, Bega Campus

David Hickson
Diploma of Hospitality Management
TAFE NSW, Ultimo

Dominic May
Bachelor of Business/Bachelor of Innovation & Entrepreneurship (Tourism Management)
University of Newcastle

Chelsea McKay
Bachelor of Hospitality
International College of Management, Manly

Harry Mitchell
Bachelor of Business (Hotel Management)
The Hotel School, Sydney

Michael Santo Monteleone
Bachelor of Business (International Hotel and Resort Management)
Blue Mountains International Hotel Management School at Torrens University Australia

Titania Oberg
Bachelor of Tourism Management
Western Sydney University

Janelle Rooney
Diploma of Travel and Tourism Management
TAFE NSW, Ourimbah

Jenny Scoufis
Certificate IV in Patisserie
TAFE NSW, Loftus

Rebekah Sharpe
Bachelor of Business (Tourism Management)
William Blue College of Hospitality Management

Cindy Sneddon
Diploma of Hospitality Management
Barrington Training Services, Clubs NSW, Riverina

Jordan Stanford
Advanced Diploma of Event Management
TAFE NSW, Northern Beaches

Download a PDF version of this media release ( 180 kb)