Destination Networks

6 July 2016

The NSW Government established six Destination Networks in 2016, following a review of regional tourism, to improve regional stakeholder engagement and better support the visitor economy of regional NSW.

Destination Networks coordinate destination management and work closely with local government, tourism organisations and operators. They are also responsible for implementing their region’s Destination Management Plan.

In November 2021, the NSW Government announced changes to the Destination Network structure to ensure the continued success of the state’s regional visitor economy and deliver more resources and support.

Changes to the Destination Network structure will take effect from 1 July 2022 and include:

  • A new Destination Network for Central West NSW to increase resources for well-established visitor destinations including Bathurst, Orange and Mudgee
  • The relocation of Snowy Valleys Local Government Area from Destination Riverina Murray to Destination Southern NSW
  • Aligning Destination Sydney Surrounds North and Destination Sydney Surrounds South boundaries with Western Parkland City.

The changes support the NSW Government’s vision to make NSW the premier visitor economy of the Asia-Pacific and contribute to the goal of $25 billion in regional visitor expenditure and $65 billion in total visitor expenditure by 2030.

Destination Network Boundaries Map - effective from 1 July 2022 (PDF 859 kb)

Destination Network websites

Destination North Coast NSW

Destination Riverina Murray NSW

Destination Southern NSW

Destination Sydney Surrounds North NSW

Destination Sydney Surrounds South NSW

Destination Country and Outback NSW