Excitement builds for T20 World Cup as Sydney fixtures announced

Sydney will host 14 matches across the Men’s and Women’s ICC T20 World Cup tournaments, including the Opening Celebration at Sydney Showground Stadium featuring Australia’s women taking on India.

29 January 2019

For the first time, women’s and men’s competitions will be played as standalone events in the same host country, in the same year with the SCG set to host three of the four semi-finals in both tournaments.

Minister for Sport Stuart Ayres said the once-in-a-generation tournament was more evidence of NSW’s major events credentials and encouraged NSW cricket lovers to register for tickets.

“The ICC T20 World Cup is the format’s pinnacle competition with Sydney set to host more matches than any other city,” Mr Ayres said.

“The Opening Celebration will be a world class display of our state’s passion for cricket and culturally diverse population, showcasing Sydney and NSW to a global broadcast audience.

“The atmosphere at the women’s and men’s semi-finals at the SCG will be electric and I urge all NSW cricket lovers to not miss their chance to be part of one of the world’s great sporting spectacles and register for tickets now.”

Minister for Tourism and Major Events Adam Marshall said that approximately 37,000 interstate and international visitors are expected to travel to NSW for the 14 matches hosted in Sydney, generating $46 million in visitor expenditure.

“The NSW Government is proud to be hosting 14 games and the opening ceremony that will bring both interstate and international visitors to our great State and ensure the visitor economy remains strong,” Mr Marshall said.

Nick Hockley Chief Executive Officer World Twenty20 Local Organising Committee said a spectacular opening celebration and match at Sydney Showground Stadium will set the tone for everything to follow in 2020.

“We know that passionate fans of all generations and cultures will travel from near and far to support their teams and that they will receive the warmest of welcomes in Sydney,” Mr Hockley said.

“We are grateful for the NSW Government’s strong support and look forward to continuing our work with them, and all our valued partners in Sydney, to ensure the T20 World Cup is not only a huge success in 2020, but that it has a lasting positive impact in NSW.”

The Women’s T20 World Cup will comprise 10 team playing 23 matches from 21 February – 8 March 2020. The Men’s T20 World Cup will involve 16 teams playing 45 matches from 18 October – 15 November 2020.

A T20 World Cup Legacy Funding Program will deliver up to $6 million dollars to local cricket clubs and councils to support the growth of cricket participation in NSW.

Over 55 projects have already been funded, providing a tangible benefit to local communities throughout NSW.

For early access to tickets, fans can register here

Women’s Tournament Sydney Fixtures

Date Match Venue
Friday 21 February Opening Match: Australia v India Sydney Showground Stadium
Sunday 1 March
(Double Header)
Group Match: South Africa v Pakistan
Group Match: England v West Indies
Sydney Showground Stadium
Tuesday 3 March
(Double Header)
Group Match: Pakistan v TBC*
Group Match: West Indies v South Africa
Sydney Showground Stadium
Thursday 5 March
Double Header
Semi Final 1
Semi Final 2
Sydney Cricket Ground

Men’s Tournament Sydney Fixtures

Date Match Venue
Saturday 24 October Opening Super 12 Match: Australia v Pakistan Sydney Cricket Ground
Thursday 29 October Super 12 Match: Pakistan v TBC Sydney Cricket Ground
Friday 30 October Super 12 Match: England v South Africa Sydney Cricket Ground
Monday 2 November Super 12 Match: TBC v TBC Sydney Cricket Ground
Sunday 8 November
(Double Header)
South Africa v TBC
India vs Afghanistan
Sydney Cricket Ground
Wednesday 11 November 2020 Semi Final 1 Sydney Cricket Ground

Download a PDF version of this media release (PDF 394 kb)