Welcome to the Big Dance! Sydney officially welcomes the T20 World Cup

Minister for Women Bronnie Taylor today officially welcomed the Australian and Indian Women’s cricket teams to NSW ahead of the T20 Women’s World Cup 2020 opening match at Sydney Showground Stadium on Friday, 21 February.

20 February 2020

Photo of the Australian Women's Cricket Team and Ministers Taylor and Ayres in the Opera House forecourt, with the Harbour Bridge in the background. They are doing the Love NSW hand shape

Mrs Taylor said today is just a taste of what is set to be one of the biggest sporting events of 2020.

“We’re thrilled to welcome visitors from far and wide to our world class venue for what will be an electric world cup series,” Mrs Taylor said.

Acting Minister for Sport Geoff Lee said tickets are still available starting from $5 for children and $20 for adults.

“The world will be watching when defending champions Australia take on India in a classic opening match. I encourage sports fans to come to Sydney Showground Stadium this Friday and support our female cricketers as they begin their road to glory,” Minister Lee said.

Minister for Tourism Stuart Ayres said the ICC Women’s and Men’s T20 World Cup were secured as part of the NSW Government’s plans to host 10 World Cups in 10 years.

“Almost 40,000 interstate and international visitors are expected to travel to NSW for both tournaments, injecting an estimated $46 million into the State’s economy,” Mr Ayres said.

The Women’s T20 World Cup will comprise of 10 teams playing 23 matches between 21 February and 8 March 2020. The series will be followed by the Men’s T20 World Cup, which begins on 18 October 2020.

Tickets are on sale for both tournaments at t20worldcup.com.

Sydney hosts a total of seven matches during the women’s tournament

Friday 21 February: opening match, Australia v India at Sydney Showground Stadium

Sunday 1 March (double header): group matches, South Africa v Pakistan and England v West Indies at Sydney Showground Stadium

Tuesday 3 March (double header): group matches Pakistan v TBC and West Indies v South Africa at Sydney Showground Stadium

Thursday 5 March (double header): semi-final 1 and semi-final 2 at Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG)

Free T20 Fan Activation events

Friday 21 February: Pop-up Fan Zone from 4PM at Opening Ceremony and Game at Sydney Showground Stadium

Sunday 23 February: Perryman Square, North Cronulla from 10AM to 2PM

Thursday 27 February: Centenary Plaza, Parramatta from 11AM to 3PM

Sunday 1 March: Sydney Showground Stadium from 12PM to 7:30PM

Wednesday 4 March: First Fleet Park, The Rocks from 11AM to 3PM

Tuesday 3 March: Sydney Showground Stadium from 12PM to 7:30PM

Thursday 5 March: Sydney Cricket Ground from 12PM to 7:30PM